Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: how to view chinese tv content?

Default how to view chinese tv content?

I understand that it's possible to view chinese tv content (from china, hong kong, taiwan) via the IMS feature. Could someone provide instructions for how to do so? It seems there are some instructions out on the web in chinese on this topic, but I can't read chinese. It also sounds like a firmware change is needed, but I'm not quite clear why this is so and why the stock firmware can't be used.

I'm new to hacking around with the PBO (still using the original stock firmware from about 1 year ago when I purchased the PBO) so I'd appreciate if any instructions provided could be newbie friendly. Thanks.

Welcome SDer.

There are several ways to add chinese IMS to the PBO. If your PBO is with bootcode 16, you will need to use one of the semi-official firmware and then add the IMS feeds to the menu or use Metafeeds. If you use semi-official firmware before P70R2, then you need to add MMS support. With P70R2, the decoders are already integrated so you just need to add the IMS links to the menu. If you don't want to edit the menu file manually, the easiest way would be using the my metafeeds account by replacing the username with tourist using a simple command. Let me know if you have bootcode 16 and need to take this path. It will take some time for me to dig out these threads for you.