Page 2 of 17 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 165

Thread: Bootcode update step-by-step process

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    What's the point of updating the bootcode? =/

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    132

    Default

    Well, I requested an RMA for bootcode about four weeks ago. Ain't heard nuthin' yet.....

    And from other threads, it appears that handling of RMA requests and returns are not Patriot's strong points.

    Besides, an RMA means that I have to pay shipping to get what should have been designed to be easily implemented by the owner.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    504

    Default

    Thank you for posting this

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikez View Post

    And, you can get a 3.3volt, low voltage serial to USB adaptor for under $2.00(usd) if
    you do a little shopping around - most older cell phone adapter cables are 3.3volt.
    Can you please give more specific instructions what to look for, which phone adapter cables can I use and how.

  5. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hzor View Post
    Can you please give more specific instructions what to look for, which phone adapter cables can I use and how.
    Use the connector pins as labeled on your board, but here is a howto that covers a lot
    of different parts / cables by name and number:
    http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/HowTo/AddASerialPort

    Also, Google knows a lot on the subject. The key words for you or google: "3.3v, low voltage, serial"

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks guys for info.
    As I understand from links, if I use Nokia CA-42 data cable it has 3 wire output, so "VCC" marked connector doesn't need to be connected on PBO?
    And also does someone already managed to update bootcode?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    305

    Smile I had success using this process!

    Just so you know,

    I successfully changed my first PBO from Bootcode 016 to 018 and back to 016.

    I updated the step by step in the first post to make it fool proof.

    Enjoy the latest Bootcode on your PBO

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    4,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Globule View Post
    Just so you know,

    I successfully changed my first PBO from Bootcode 016 to 018 and back to 016.

    I updated the step by step in the first post to make it fool proof.

    Enjoy the latest Bootcode on your PBO
    Great post Globule, any reason why you switched back to 016 ?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aasoror View Post
    Great post Globule, any reason why you switched back to 016 ?
    Wanted to check the whole process more than one time and make sure I could downgrade it.

    As a matter of fact, I reflashed the 018 Bootcode in it

    That PBO may eventually go back to Amazon though...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    4,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Globule View Post
    Wanted to check the whole process more than one time and make sure I could downgrade it.

    As a matter of fact, I reflashed the 018 Bootcode in it

    That PBO may eventually go back to Amazon though...
    is the Fan running slower now ..?

    what alternatives do you have in mind ... I have been digging for a while into cross flashing and it seems this is as good of a hardware as any Realtek based chipset will go (128MB RAM, 256MB Flash) the Xtreamer has exactly the same memory chips inside (from the same manufacturer) as a matter of fact the memory chips inside Xtreamer are of slightly outdated lines to the ones inside the PBO. The same goes for O!Play (I have not seen hardware internals but the serial dumps confirms the 128/256 configs).

    So it seems you can basically transform the PBO to whatever Realtek media player you need (given a harmony remote).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •