Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: forget the root password

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    4,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kermit View Post
    use uart to fix the passwd question.
    uart ..? this UART ?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Yes.

    That is serial port, if you open the box, you can see four pins connector close to the fan, rx,tx,vcc,gnd. If you have a RS-232 chip, you can connect it with pc's serial port. On hypertermial, set 115200bps, 8-N-1. You can see a lot of funny message.
    Last edited by kermit; 02-26-2010 at 05:34 AM. Reason: answer assoror's question

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    4,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kermit View Post
    Yes.

    That is serial port, if you open the box, you can see four pins connector close to the fan, rx,tx,vcc,gnd. If you have a RS-232 chip, you can connect it with pc's serial port. On hypertermial, set 115200bps, 8-N-1. You can see a lot of funny message.
    Thanks for the reply. Which cable did you use ..? all the cables that I could find were either 9 pins or 25 pins.

  4. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kermit View Post
    use uart to fix the passwd question.
    cd /usr/local/etc/
    vi passwd
    The first line should be:
    root:x:0:0:root::/bin/sh

    just delete the "x"

    Then you can login in.

    Maybe because I dont install the sata driver, there are a lot of "watchdog test pid 205, threshold: 50" message on hypertermial , I need print the screen for reference after I enter the vi passwd cmd.

    good to know and glad you fixed it.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Just an idea here:

    When you flash the PBO with a different version, that resets all your settings.
    I quick fix could be to flash it back to old then new version of the software.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    You need a rs-232 chip to convert serial port electronic signal to TTL signal, You only need 2 signals TX and RX to connect with PBO.
    I use 9pins cables connect to my little uart board, this board has a rs232 chip to convert the singal level. From this board I connect it with PBO with 3 signals, TX,RX and GND. For the uart board need independ +5V DC power supply.



    Quote Originally Posted by aasoror View Post
    Thanks for the reply. Which cable did you use ..? all the cables that I could find were either 9 pins or 25 pins.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ON, Canada
    Posts
    4,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kermit View Post
    You need a rs-232 chip to convert serial port electronic signal to TTL signal, You only need 2 signals TX and RX to connect with PBO.
    I use 9pins cables connect to my little uart board, this board has a rs232 chip to convert the singal level. From this board I connect it with PBO with 3 signals, TX,RX and GND. For the uart board need independ +5V DC power supply.
    so this would work ?


  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    210

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    504

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kermit View Post
    You need a rs-232 chip to convert serial port electronic signal to TTL signal, You only need 2 signals TX and RX to connect with PBO.
    I use 9pins cables connect to my little uart board, this board has a rs232 chip to convert the singal level. From this board I connect it with PBO with 3 signals, TX,RX and GND. For the uart board need independ +5V DC power supply.
    Wow, wish I knew what any of that meant lol
    At least we are finally getting some movement on this subject

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    210

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kermit View Post
    ... For the uart board need independent +5V DC power supply.
    I assume the boards with USB connection (listed above) do not need extra power. Am I right or wrong ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •